Emerging Artist Prize

Congratulations to Mona Lisa Ali Alzghoul who won the CASV 2016 Emerging Artist Prize!


The exhibition and award night was a lovely event. Thanks to all 2016 EAP nominees for showing their work at Access Gallery: Annie Briard, Debbie Tuepah, Monique Motut-Firth and Aaron Moran. A big thanks also to Access for hosting the exhibition, and of course to all the artists who submitted applications in 2016.

Special thanks are in order for this year’s esteemed jury members as well:

Dr. Randy Lee Cutler, Artist, educator + writer
Fiona Ackerman, Painter
Darrin Martens, Chief Curator, Audain Art Museum
Gordon Duggan, Curator + Director, New Media Gallery
Rachel Rosenfield Lafo, Director, Richmond Art Gallery



This CASV Emerging Artist’s Prize was established in 2011 to encourage and support artists within the first five years of their careers, and is the only one of its kind in Vancouver selected through an open competition. The prize is entirely funded by donations of CASV members and supporters. The CASV is a not-for-profit membership-based organization founded in 1977 that focuses on promoting an appreciation and understanding of Contemporary Art. Members enjoy studio visits, art trips, collection visits and lectures by prominent artists, critics, collectors, designers, architects and fine art professionals.  For questions please contact info@casv.ca


The 2014 Emerging Artist’s Prize winner was Joseph Staples. Finalists from 2012 were: Derya AkayByron PetersLaura Piasta, and Erdem Tasdelen


The 2012 Emerging Artist’s Prize winner was Nicole OndreFinalists from 2012 were: Scott BillingsJordy HamiltonJeremy Hof and Natalie Purschwitz.