Thursday, April 28, 2016

Open to the public - you do not have to be a CASV member to attend this event. Read about the benefits of becoming a CASV member and the events open to members only.

Art lovers won’t want to want to miss the Contemporary Art Society of Vancouver’s (CASV) Emerging Artists Prize Exhibition, at Access Gallery from April 28-May 7, and the special reception to announce and honour the prize winner on May 6 at 6 pm.

CASV created the Emerging Artists Prize in 2011 to support artists within the first five years of their careers. The prize, open to artwork in all media created by artists residing in the Lower Mainland, is the only one of its kind in Vancouver, and comes with a $3,000 award for the winner and $500 each for the other finalists.

The 2016 finalists, selected from more than 130 online submissions, are Mona Lisa Ali Alzghoul, Annie Briard, Aaron Moran, Monique Motut-Firth, and Debbie Tuepah.

Finalists will be judged by a jury of distinguished members of the art community including artist Fiona Ackerman; artist, educator and writer Dr. Randy Lee Cutler; Chief Curator of the Audain Art Museum Darrin Martens; Curator and Director of the New Media Gallery Gordon Duggan; and Director of the Richmond Art Gallery Rachel Rosenfield Lafo. The expert panel will select the winner from the exhibition, and announce the award recipient at the reception on May 6.

The exhibit is a unique opportunity to see a selection of work from some of the most talented members of Vancouver’s vibrant contemporary art community, and to be a part of the exciting celebration when CASV announces the winner on May 6. The reception is open to the public and the CASV Board encourages all Vancouver art lovers to attend.

Image Credit: All images featured  in this grid were CASV Emerging Artist Prize Winners from 2012 and 2014. Top to bottom, L to R: Jordy Hamilton, Joseph Staples (2014 winner), Byron Peters, Natalie Purschwitz, Laura Piasta, Derya Akay, Scott Billings, Erdem Tasdelen, Nicole Ondre (2012 winner) and Jeremy Hof.